Loan Originator Renewal

8-hour NMLS Approved Continuing Education.

All Loan Originators are required to take 8 hours of NMLS Approved courses to renew their Loan Originator License.

Licenses must be renewed by December 31, 2021

Hogan School is partnering with Learn Mortgage (NMLS Approved Provider ID# 1400214) to offer the online and in-person courses for Continuing Education.

The courses are approved by the NMLS to fulfill the SAFE Act continuing education requirements and cover the required CE topic areas including the 1-hour of Arizona-specific law.

Arizona LO Continuing Education Requirements

This course will contain:

  • 3 Hours Federal Law
  • 2 Hours Ethics
  • 2 Hours Non-Traditional Mortgage Lending
  • 1 Hour Arizona Specific

Course Expectations

Attendance is mandatory to receive course credit. Before your completion status can be transmitted to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry (NMLS) you are required to:

  • Spend the minimum required amount of time in the course
  • Complete all the required activities
  • Participate in Class activities

At the conclusion of the course, you will be asked to complete a Course Evaluation. If you do not complete all the requirements, including the course evaluation, you will not get credit for this course and no results will be communicated to NMLS.

Online CE Course Benefits:

Approved: Approved by the NMLS (ID Number 1400214) to meet the AZ SAFE Act regulations.

Flexible: A flexible online course that you take at your individual pace and can stop and start at any time.

Supported: Our courses are effortless to take, but we are available to aid you if you need it.

Instructive: Our subjects are timely and written by Mortgage specialists with over twenty years of experience.

No-hidden Fees: We “bank” your completion record to the NMLS and we even pay the NMLS $1.50 per credit hour fee on your behalf (other companies charge separately).

Mortgage Continuing Education FAQs

Click to view FAQs

Do I have to take continuing education this year, if I also completed pre-licensing courses this year?
No, if you received your MLO license during the year, you do not need to take Mortgage CE.

If I have further questions about Arizona mortgage continuing education, who should I contact?
For further questions, you can contact the Arizona agency that regulates the mortgage industry. They can be reached at:

Arizona Department of Insurance & Financial Institutions
100 N 15th Ave Suite 261
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 771-2800
Fax: (602) 381-1225

Can the same continuing education course be taken two years in a row?
No. Per SAFE Act regulations, you must take different CE courses every year.

If I am employed at a Commercial Bank, do I need to take continuing education?
You do not have to take continuing education courses if you work for an insured depository organization such as those regulated by FDIC, NCUA etc. You still can and may want to take the relevant PE and CE courses in the event that you change employment and work for a state-licensed lender or broker.

Am I allowed to carryover CE hours from one year to the next?
No. CE hours are not able to be carried over to the next renewal cycle.

How do I contact the NMLS if I have questions?
For questions relating to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System, please contact the NMLS Call Center at (240) 386-4444.

Does submit my hours?
All completed hours must be “banked” with the NMLS. The Association of Mortgage Educators ( will bank your continuing education hours for you within seven (7) days of you finishing your online course. will pay the NMLS-mandated $1.50 per credit hour to bank your credit hours.

Scroll to Top